Vermont Medicine magazine features stories about students, faculty, and the alumni of the Larner College of Medicine and its engagement with the wider community.

Inventing the Wheel

Over the past five years, Vermont has emerged as a national leader in treatment for opioid use disorder. The new system — called the hub and spoke — incorporates addiction treatment into primary care in a comprehensive way not seen anywhere else in the country. In creating this new system, Vermont physicians and health policy leaders have altered public perception of addiction. Instead of shunting patients labeled as “addicts” into a category separate from other disease sufferers, they’re welcomed into an environment that supports them on the journey to recovery. Although challenges remain, the hub and spoke system represents a huge step forward in how opioid use disorder is treated and understood, and stands alone as a national model.>> READ MORE

Dean Rick Morin, M.D.

As his 11-year tenure nears its end, Dean Rick Morin reflects on the high points of his time at the helm of the Larner College of Medicine, and looks at the landscape ahead. " I think there is no college of medicine that in the last few years that has received as much national and international recognition for their educational program," he says during the Q & A. "I have never seen anything like it in my career. We have a compelling story.">> READ MORE

Tunbridge Map

The town of Tunbridge is known for its bucolic landscape and breathtaking fall colors, as well as its annual “World’s Fair,” but this Vermont enclave of about a thousand residents boasts another distinction. It produced four doctors who got their early education in its one-room schoolhouses and went on to medical school at the University of Vermont. All four grew up on family farms, milking cows and pitching hay, and developing a strong work ethic. All of them ended up practicing medicine in small communities, translating the cohesive experience of rural life to their careers.>> READ MORE