Dixon Named 2022-23 University Scholar

April 29, 2022 by Jennifer Nachbur

Anne Dixon, M.A., BM BCh, professor of medicine, has been named one of four 2022-2023 University Scholars.

Anne Dixon, M.A., BM BCh (Photo: Ed Neuert)

The University of Vermont Graduate College has announced that Anne Dixon, M.A., BM BCh, professor of medicine, has been named one of four 2022-2023 University Scholars. The University Scholars program recognizes distinguished UVM faculty members for sustained excellence in research, scholarship, and creative arts.

Dixon, who joined the UVM faculty in 2001, has served as director of the Vermont Lung Center since 2019. In addition, she is chief of the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine and an attending physician at the UVM Medical Center. 

A fellow of the American Thoracic Society (ATS), Dixon has a notable national and international reputation for her clinical and research expertise in the areas of asthma and lung disease related to obesity and metabolic dysfunction. A current and past member on several National Institutes of Health and Veterans’ Affairs study sections, national guideline panels, and the American Lung Association’s national Board of Directors, she previously served as the Vermont Lung Center’s director of clinical research for 20 years.

In 2016, Dixon was recognized as the UVM Health Network Medical Group’s Senior Investigator of the Year and in 2021, she was honored as Research Laureate at the Larner College of Medicine – the highest recognition for research accomplishment in the college. To date, she has published 120 original articles in top journals and has had sustained impact in the field of asthma research. She has also edited a book and 12 book chapters. Her extramural funding includes three current MPI R01s and an R34 trial grant. She continues to be a highly sought-after research and career mentor of graduate students, post-docs, medical students and pulmonary fellows.

Dixon received a B.A. and M.A. from the University of Cambridge, England, and her medical degree from the University of Oxford, England. She completed an internal medicine residency at Johns Hopkins University and a pulmonary and critical care fellowship at the University of Washington.

The three other 2022-23 University Scholars are Emily Bernard, Ph.D., professor of English, Jan Fook, Ph.D., professor and chair of social work, and Beverly Wemple, Ph.D., professor and chair of geography. The 2022-23 University Scholars will be officially inducted during a ceremony, which will take place on May 6.

Read more about the 2022-23 University Scholars.