Dean's Celebration of Excellence in Research - October 31 - November 2, 2022

The Dean's Celebration of Excellence in Research is an annual three-day event highlighting the research being conducted by junior faculty, senior faculty, postdoctoral trainees, and graduate students at the University of Vermont and the University of Vermont Larner College of Medicine.

  • The Graduate Student Research Showcase was held on Monday, October 31, 2022 and provided a venue for developing scientists to share their amazing work and research stories with the Larner College of Medicine community and an opportunity to earn prizes. Each presenter spoke for 12 minutes or less about their research, followed by 3 minutes of Q&A. Presentations were considered for two prizes in each of two categories - junior graduate student and senior graduate student.

  • The State of Research at the College and Dean's Excellence in Research Awards was held on Tuesday, November 1 and  included a presentation by Interim Senior Associate Dean for Research Richard Gallbraith, M.D., Ph.D. on the State of Research at the UVM Larner College of Medicine, and an awards ceremony. The awards ceremony included the presentation of awards for Outstanding Research Publication by a Graduate Student, Outstanding Research Publication by a Medical Student, Outstanding Research Publication by a Postdoctoral Fellow, Outstanding Research Publication by a Resident, Senior Researcher of the Year at the UVM Health Network Medical Group (UVMHNMG), Junior Researcher of the Year at the UVMHNMG, and faculty awards for Research Mentorship, Rising Star New Investigator,  Mid-Career Investigator, Research Laureate, Faculty Clinical Trials Research and two awards that recognized research staff including the Dean’s Clinical Research Coordinator Award and the Dean’s Scientific Research Staff Award.

View the State of Research at the College Presentation on YouTube >>

View a PDF of the State of Research at the College Presentation >>

View the Program >>

  • The 2022 Research Laureate Lecture was held on Wednesday, November 2.  Yvonne Janssen-Heininger, Ph.D., Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, the 2021 Research Laureate, presented a talk titled "Redox Medicine for the Management of Chronic Diseases". 


2022 Dean's Excellence in Research Award Winners

The Graduate Student Trainee Showcase

Junior Graduate Category

Winner: Kanayo Ikeh, for “Unraveling the Functional Dynamics of REV1 during cancer cells' response to therapy”. Ikeh's mentor is Nimrat Chatterjee, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics

Runner Up: Allison Morrissey for “Picking Up Hitchhikers: A Novel Mechanism of Cellular Transport”. Morrissey's mentor is John Salogiannis, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics

Senior Graduate Category

WinnerAnalis Whitaker for “An agnostic interrogation of the early plasmablast repertoire from COVID-19 patients reveals broadly neutralizing SARS-CoV-2 antibodies”. Whitaker's mentor is Jason Botten, Ph.D., Professor, Medicine - Immunobiology

Runner UpBay Vagher for “Secondary Metabolite Uridine Diphosphate Glucose (UDPG) Alters Dendritic Cell Mitochondrial Respiration via a P2Y14R/iNOS-dependent Axis”. Vagher's mentor is Eyal Amiel, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Biomedical and Health Sciences


Trainee Awards for Outstanding Research Publication

Medical Student

Jennifer Holland, M.D.'22 for “Assessing the Relationship Between Well-Care Visit and Emergency Department Utilization Among Adolescents and Young Adults”. Holland's mentor is Valerie Harder, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, in the Departments of Pediatrics and Psychiatry

Graduate Student

Alex Thompson, Ph.D. for “Pathogenic mutations in the chromokinesin KIF22 disrupt anaphase chromosome segregation”. Thompson's mentor is Jason Stumpff, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Molecular Biology and Biophysics

Postdoctoral Fellow

Nicholas Klug, Ph.D. for "Adenosine signaling activates ATP-sensitive K+ channels in endothelial cells and pericytes in CNS capillaries". Klug's mentor is Mark Nelson, Ph.D., Chair and University Distinguished Professor in the Department of Pharmacology


Serena Murphy, M.D. for "Gradual adoption of needle biopsy for breast lesions in a rural state". Murphy's mentors are Michelle Sowden, D.O. Associate Professor, Surgical Oncology and Brian Sprague, Ph.D, Professor, Surgical Research


UVM Health Network Medical Group Awards

Junior Researcher of the Year

Jessica Heath, M.D., Associate Professor of Pediatrics & Biochemistry

Senior Researcher of the Year

Gary An, M.D., Professor of Surgery

Research Grants    

Emmett Whitaker, M.D., Associate Professor of Anesthesiology

Jonathan Riddell, M.D., Assistant Professor of Surgery, Urology & Pediatrics

Innovation Grants

Marjorie Meyer, M.D., Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences

Carole McBride, Ph.D., Faculty Scientist

Larner College of Medicine Staff Awards

Scientific Research Staff

Scott Tighe, Director of Technologies, Advanced Genome Technologies Core, Vermont Cancer Center

Clinical Research Coordinator

     Stephanie Burns, Clinical Research Professional


Larner College of Medicine Faculty Awards

Research Mentorship

Jane Lian, Ph.D., Professor of Biochemistry

     Dean’s Clinical Trials Research Award

                   Renee Stapleton, M.D., Professor of Medicine

Rising Star New Investigator

Ellen McGinnis, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Psychiatry

Mid-Career Investigator

Valerie Harder, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Pediatrics & Psychiatry

Matthew Wargo, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics

Research Laureate

Sylvie Doublié, Ph.D., Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics