Larner College of Medicine Alumni Association Awards

Each year The Larner College of Medicine Alumni Association Awards Committee selects alumni to receive awards in four distinct categories (see descriptions below). The LCOM Alumni Association Awards give recognition to medical and PhD/MS alumni who have been outstanding in their service to the College, the community at large, or their career accomplishments. Strong consideration is given to nominees who demonstrate outstanding commitment to equity in medicine, reflecting the College's mission "to benefit Vermont and the world through engagement with diverse communities."

Presenting the 2023 LCOM Alumni Association Award Recipients:

Read below to learn about each award and the names of this year's recipients. Click each award name to view all past recipients and complete biographies of our current recipients.

A. Bradley Soule Award:

Presented to an alum whose loyalty and dedication to The Larner College of Medicine most emulate those qualities as found in the award’s first recipient, A. Bradley Soule, M.D.'28.

2023 Recipient:

John McGill, M.D.'78

Distinguished Academic Achievement Award

Presented to alumni in recognition of outstanding scientific or academic achievement.

2023 Recipients:

Jared D. Christensen, M.D.'03
Meagan M. Costedio, M.D.'03
Julie R. Park, M.D.'88

Service to Medicine and Community Award:

Presented to alumni who have maintained a high standard of medical service and who have achieved an outstanding record of community service or assumed other significant responsibilities not directly related to medical practice.

2023 Recipients:

Morris Earle, Jr., M.D.'83
Victor C. Herson, M.D.'73
Paul C. Rutkowski, M.D.'63

Early Achievement Award:

Presented to an alum who has graduated within the past 15 years in recognition of their outstanding community or College service, scientific, or academic achievement.

2023 Recipients:

Erica P. Cahill, M.D.'13
William E. Damsky, Ph.D.'11, M.D.'13
Ryan D. Winters, M.D.'08


2025 Award Nominations

Nominations are now closed for the 2024 Awards Cycle.  The UVM Larner College of Medicine Alumni Association Award recipients will be recognized during LCOM Reunion 2024 in October 2024.

To submit a nomination for the 2025 Awards Cycle, please submit this online form, including a letter/statement of nomination, as well as any supporting material such as your nominee’s curriculum vitae. Nominators may be asked to help gather additional biographical information, further letters of support (each nominee must have at least two), and/or to assist in writing award citations for their selected nominees. Nominees not chosen for an award may be considered in future years.

Questions? Contact for more information.

Submit a Nomination Here