

Induction and Award Ceremony

Wednesday, January 13, 2021 4:00 - 5:00 PM Zoom Webinar



The University of Vermont



Medical Group

Welcome

Kathryn Huggett, PhD

Director, The Teaching Academy

Welcome and Remarks

Richard Page, MD

Dean, Larner College of Medicine

Teaching Academy Year in Review

Kathryn Huggett, PhD

State of Graduate Medical Education

Melissa Davidson, MD

Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education and Designated Institutional Official Professor, Department of Anesthesiology

Teaching Academy Distinguished Educator

Induction of New Teaching Academy Members

Read by Molly Rideout, MD

Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics

Teaching Academy Distinguished Educator

Teaching and Educational Excellence Awards

Kathryn Huggett, PhD

Medical Group Education Awards

John King, MD, MPH

Associate Dean for Continuing Medical and Interprofessional Education Professor and Vice Chair, Department of Family Medicine

Teaching Academy Distinguished Educator

Claude Deschamps, MD

Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs President, UVM Medical Group

Distinguished Service Recognition

Kathryn Huggett, PhD

Closing Remarks

2020 Inductees

Distinguished Educator

Karen Lounsbury, PhD, Pharmacology Halle Sobel, MD, FACP, Medicine Rebecca Wilcox, MD, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine

Master Teacher

Dmitriy Akselrod, MD, Radiology Deborah Cook, MD, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Thomas Delaney, PhD, Pediatrics Clara Keegan, MD, Family Medicine Anne Stowman, MD, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Jaspinder Sra, MD, Anesthesiology

Member

Wasef Abu-Jaish, MD, Surgery Daniel Ackil, DO, Surgery Whittney Barkhuff, MD, PhD, Pediatrics Michelle Cangiano, MD, Family Medicine Benjamin Clements, MD, Family Medicine

2020 Inductees

Members (cont.)

Navid Esfandiari, PhD, Obstetrics, Gynecology, & Reproductive Sciences Tabitha Ford, MD, Surgery Matthew Geeslin, MD, MS, Radiology Matthew Gilbert, DO, MPH, Medicine Heather Herrington, MD, Surgery Alicia Jacobs, MD, Family Medicine F. Louis Kirk III, MD, Anesthesiology George Kurien, MD, Surgery Skyler Lentz, MD, Surgery Mark Lach, MD, Radiology Shea Lambirth, MD, Medicine Katherine Mariani, MD, MPH, Family Medicine Rachel McEntee, MD, Medicine Carolyn Orgain, MD, Surgery Christian Pulcini, MD, MPH, Surgery Lindsay Reardon, MD, Surgery Tamara Rimash, MD, Surgery Matthew Siket, MD, Surgery John Steele Taylor, MD, Neurological Sciences

Protégé

Autumn Sacklow, MD, Surgery

Teaching Academy Awards for Teaching and Educational Excellence

Innovation in Curriculum Development or Pedagogy Award Molly Rideout, MD, Pediatrics

> Educational Scholarship Award Andrew Hale, MD, Medicine

Outstanding Contribution Award Leah Burke, MD, Pediatrics

Frederick C. Morin III, MD Educational Leadership Award Stephen Everse, PhD, Biochemistry

Distinguished Service Award

Alan Rubin, MD, Medicine and Psychiatry

Medical Group Education Awards

Continuing Medical Education Educator of the Year Stephen Berns, MD, Family Medicine

Graduate Medical Education Educator of the Year Julian Sprague, MD, PhD, Medicine

UVMHN Medical Group Education Grant

"Fostering gender equity to improve the clinical learning environment for medical learners at the University of Vermont"

PI: Richard Bounds, MD, Surgery-Emergency Medicine

CO PI: Tabitha Ford, MD, Surgery-Emergency Medicine